http://www.rockdaleschools.org/
Last item for navigation

Learning Support

The Department of Learning Support is dedicated to providing support to children, parents, and the faculty of the Rockdale County Public Schools. The department is based at the Central Office facility located at 960 Pine Street NE, Conyers, GA, 770-860-4231.

Learning Support Services (LSS) incorporates a variety of specialists that includes coaches, special educators, speech and language pathologists, physical and occupational therapists, and vision/hearing teachers. LSS is also responsible for monitoring and implementing special education services and programs throughout the school district. The LSS staff regularly offers training and workshops to faculty to ensure the highest quality of training and valuable resources.





Dr. Marva Howard
Director
Phone: 770-860-4231
Email: mhoward23@rockdale.k12.ga.us







Anja Peay
Secretary
Phone: 770-860-4231
Email: apeay@rockdale.k12.ga.us




 


Directory

Name
Title Phone
Dr. Marva Howard Director 770-860-4231
Kachelle White
Secondary Coordinator 770-860-4238
Jessica Walls Elementary Coordinator
770-860-4212
Tara Geiser Elementary Coordinator /Related Services 770-761-1454
Bridgett Copeland
Secondary Coordinator
770-860-4229
Deana Cain State Reporting and Compliance / Secondary  770-860-4244 
Meshalette Atkins State Reporting and Compliance / Elementary 770-761-1444 
Sirena Graves
Parent Mentor
770-918-6187
Josh Kammerer Behavior Specialist
770-918-6186
Steve Johnson
Behavior Specialist
770-922-8636
Anja Peay Secretary / Special Ed Records
770-860-4231
Jackeline Perez Learning Support Bookkeeper
770-860-4245
Dr. Pankaj Gaur Vision Specialist        770-918-2519    



2022-2023 RCPS Office of Learning Support
Lead Teachers for Compliance Contact List:


Julie Benkoski, jbenkoski@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Barksdale Elementary 770-483-9514 (on-campus extension 13152)
Pine Street Elementary 770-483-8713   

Robin Vaughn-Dixon, rvaughndixon@rockdale.k12.ga.us    
C.J. Hicks Elementary 770-483-4410 (on-campus extension 14184)

Nashetta Lowe, nlowe@rockdale.k12.ga.us    
Flat Shoals Elementary 770-483-5136 (on-campus extension 15203)

Kasha King, kking1@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Hightower Elementary 770-388-0751
Honey Creek Elementary 770-483-5706

Dana Jarrells, djarrells@rockdale.k12.ga.us    
Lorraine Elementary 770-483-0657 (on-campus extension 35198)
J.H. House Elementary 770-483-9504

Santressa Idlette,
 sidlette23@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Peeks Chapel Elementary 770-761-1842 (on-campus extension 19158)

Jacqueline Mercer, jmercer23@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Shoal Creek Elementary 770-929-1430
Sims Elementary 770-922-0666



Stacey Wilson-James, swilsonjames23@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Memorial Middle School 770-922-0139

Anisha Mendez, amendez@rockdale.k12.ga.us    
Conyers Middle 770-483-3371 (on-campus extension 23233)

Sabrina McCray, smccray@rockdale.k12.ga.us
General Ray Davis Middle 770-388-5675 (on-campus extension 24221)

Shani Simmons, ssimmons@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Edwards Middle 770-483-3255 (on-campus extension 25199)



Folashade Belmon, fbelmon@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Heritage High School 770-483-5428

Ann Johnson, ajohnson3@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Rockdale County High 770-483-8754 (on-campus extension 28302)

Keisha Banks, kbanks23@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Salem High School 770-929-0176

Ives Cineas, icineas@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Rockdale Career Academy 770-388-5677    



Jamie Wilson, jwilson@rockdale.k12.ga.us
READY Program 770-483-4410 (on-campus extension 14215)




Requests for Special Education Records:

Click here for the form: RECORDS REQUEST

Please email or fax your completed request form to
Anja Peay: apeay@rockdale.k12.ga.us
 / 678-658-3152 Fax




Learning Support Links

Georgia Department of Education - Education Support
Georgia’s Special Needs Scholarship Information


More Information




Special Needs Scholarship (SB10)

The application window for the 22-23 school year has closed

* Deadline for application submission for the 23-24 school year will be announced at a later date. 




Child Find Notice

(Identification of Services for Individuals with Disabilities)
Under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Rockdale County Public Schools implements a comprehensive Child Find system to assure that all children who are in need of early intervention or special education services are located, identified, and referred.  The Child Find network assists in identifying and providing appropriate educational help to students with disabilities.  If you suspect your child, ages 3-21, may be a child with a disability, you are encouraged to contact the Learning Support Services office of Rockdale County Public Schools at 770-860-4231.  Personnel can support you in exploring what services may be available.

Child Find extends to children who are parentally placed in private or home schools.  Rockdale County Public Schools personnel are available to meet with the representative from private and home schools to inform them of the district’s Child Find procedures and services that may be available under the proportionate share of federal special education funds.  If your child is enrolled in a private school or home school and has been identified as a child with a disability or you suspect your child has a disability, you may contact Dr. Marva Howard, Director of Learning Support at 770-860-4231 for more information.