http://www.rockdaleschools.org/

Youth Mental Health First Aid

(Printable PDF with class schedule)


Youth Mental Health First Aid in Rockdale County, GA flyer with class schedule for 2019-2020

To register, go to https://tinyurl.com/RCPSYMHFA

A young person you know could be experiencing a mental health challenge or crisis. You can help.

RCPS offers free Youth Mental Health First Aid classes.

This FREE course teaches participants the risk factors and warning signs of a variety of mental health challenges common among adolescents, including anxiety, depression, psychosis, eating disorders, ADHD, disruptive behavior disorders, and substance use disorders.

Participants do not learn to diagnose, nor how to provide any therapy or counseling – rather, participants learn to support a youth developing signs and symptoms of a mental illness or in an emotional crisis by applying a core five-step action plan:

- Assess for risk of suicide or harm.
- Listen non-judgmentally.
- Give reassurance and information.
- Encourage appropriate professional help.
- Encourage self-help and other support strategies

Through funding from Health TRUST Rockdale, the grant-making arm of the Hospital Authority of Rockdale County, Rockdale County Public Schools is able to provide this training at no cost to youth-serving adults in Rockdale County. Mental Health First Aid is included on SAMHSA’s National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices (NREPP).

For more information, contact dgilreath@rockdale.k12.ga.us

CLASS SCHEDULE:

Thursday, November 7, 2019, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Pine Street Elementary
Tuesday, November 12, 2019, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Pine Street Elementary

Saturday, January 11, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center
Saturday, January 18, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center
Saturday, January 25, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center

Saturday, Feb 8, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center
Saturday, Feb 1, 2020,  8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center
Thursday, Feb 20, 2020,  8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center
Saturday, Feb 29, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center

Saturday, April 18, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center
Saturday, April 25, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center

Tuesday, June 9, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center
Thursday June 11, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center
Tuesday, June 16, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center
Thursday, June 18, 2020, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. RCHS Media Center


To register, go to https://tinyurl.com/RCPSYMHFA



(
Printable PDF with class schedule)