http://www.rockdaleschools.org/

Academic Competition and Showcase Opportunities


Event Details (PDF) (RTF)




2019-20 Schedule:

For more details on each event, see "Event Details" above on this page.


National Hispanic Heritage Month Youth Competition

Grades 3-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline: 
Five categories for entries: Presentation, Performance, Documentary, Art (2D or 3D), Website.
School Level Entries Display: September 16-20, 2019
School Level Winners Entered: September 23, 2019
District Contact:  Maria Nishio, mnishio@rockdale.k12.ga.us ; Co-sponsored by Unidos Somos United, unidossomosunited@gmail.com
District Event: 
October 13, 2019, 12 - 5 p.m. at RCA.



Oratorical Competition (Clerk of Courts Office)

Grades 6-8.
Registration/Notification Deadline: 
Submit School Level Winners by September 27, 2019.
District Contact:  Donna Malone, dmalone@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event: 
October 21, 2019 Finalists Workshop at RCA 6 - 8 p.m., 
November 18, 2019 District Competition at RCA 6 - 8 p.m.



Rockdale Math Competition for High Schools

Grades 9-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline: October 11, 2019.
District Contact:  Dr. Chuck Garner, cgarner@rockdale.k12.ga.us
www.rockdalemathcompetition.com
District Event: 
October 19, 2019, 9 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. at Rockdale Magnet School.



National History Day

Grades 6-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline: 
Intent to Participate Form Due October 26, 2019.
Preliminary Registration for South Metro Region Due TBD.
Each school will host its own fair. All school competitions are to be held before February 8, 2020.
Formal Registration TBD 2019.
District Contact:  Virnilisa Printup vprintup@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  There is no district NHD competition. The South Metro Region NHD Competition will be held March 2020 (tentative). 



Rockdale Regional Science and Engineering Fair

Website: http://rsef.webs.com
Support information:  http://sites.google.com/view/schoolfair/home
Contact:  Amanda Baskett abaskett@rockdale.k12.ga.us , Dr. Scott Bolen sbolen@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
Event:  January 24, 2020, at Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology.
Setup January 23, 2020, 5-7 p.m.
Awards January 24, 2020.



Technology and Media Showcase (East Atlanta Technology Fair)

Grades 3-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Register no later than January 3, 2020. Showcase projects must be presented on the day of the Showcase.
District Contact:  Technology Fair Contact  Gena Jeselnik gjeselnik@rockdale.k12.ga.us
https://www.rockdaleschools.org/techfair
District Event:  January 25, 2020 at RCA.



Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl

Grades 4-8,
Grades 6-8,
Grades 9-12 (Tentative).
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Submit Intent to Participate to Jean O’Kelley (elementary and middle schools) and to Kimberly Wisnewski (high schools) by October 31, 2019.
District Contact:  Elementary & Middle School - Beth Clark bclark@rockdale.k12.ga.us , High School - Kimberly Wisnewski kwisnewski@rockdale.k12.ga.us .
District Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl Event:  January 25, 2020, 8 a.m. – 1 p.m. at RCA Guidelines available at www.dekalbschoolsga.org/helen-ruffin-reading-bowl
Metro Regional HRRB Event: February 2020 at Clayton State University
North Divisional HRRB Event: TBA.
State HRRB Event: TBA.
www.dekalbschoolsga.org/helen-ruffin-reading-bowl/



Fifth Grade Social Studies Fair

Grade 5.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  List of Entries Due January 17, 2020.
District Contact:  Virnilisa Printup vprintup@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  February 1, 2020 at MMS.



Rockdale Math Competition for Middle Schools

Grades 6-8.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  January 24, 2020
District Contact:  Dr. Chuck Garner cgarner@rockdale.k12.ga.us
www.rockdalemathcompetition.com
District Event: 
February 1, 2020, 9 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. at Rockdale Magnet School.



RCPS District Spelling Bee

Grades 4-8.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Register with National Scripps Spelling Bee, Regular Enrollment from August 2019-December 2019.
School Winners due January 17, 2020.
District Contacts:  Audrey Champion achampion@rockdale.k12.ga.us, DaMeka Whitehead dwhitehead@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  February 7, 2020, 9:30 a.m. at EMS.
GAE region Event:  February 22, 2020, 10 a.m.



Math 24 Competition

Grades 3-5.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Names of Building Leaders due March 10, 2020. 
District Contact:  LaToya Byrd lbyrd2@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
District Event:  March 24, 2020, 5 - 8 p.m. at RCA.



Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition

Grades K-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Submit School Level Winners February 12, 2020.
District Contacts:  Donna Malone dmalone@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  TBD, Winners submitted to Metro RESA



Thousand Voices Oratorical Showcase

Grades K-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Submit School Level Winners’ Entry Forms by March 13, 2020.
District Contact:  Donna Malone dmalone@rockdale.k12.ga.us .
District Event:  April 25, 2020 9 a.m. at TBA.



Science and Social Studies Showcase

Grades 3-5.
Registration/Notification Deadline: List of Entries due April 13, 2020.
District Contacts:  Dr. Denise Richardson drichardson@rockdale.k12.ga.us and Virnilisa Printup vprintup@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  April 25, 2020, 9:30 a.m. at TBD.






Event Details (PDF) (RTF)