http://www.rockdaleschools.org/

Academic Competition and Showcase Opportunities


Event Details (PDF) (RTF)




2017-18 Schedule:

For more details on each event, see "Event Details" above on this page.

Oratorical Competition (Clerk of Courts Office)

Grades 6-8.
Registration/Notification Deadline: 
Submit School Level Winners by September 22, 2017.
District Contact:  Sherry Boudreaux sboudreaux@rockdale.k12.ga.us, Andrea McMahan amcmahan@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
District Event: 
October 14, 2017 Workshop at CMS 12:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m., 
October 28, 2017 Competition at CMS 9:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m.


National History Day

Grades 6-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline: 
Intent to Participate Form Due October 27, 2017
Preliminary Registration for South Metro Region Due January 19, 2018.
Each school will host its own fair. All school competitions are to be held before February 9, 2018.
Formal Registration February 16, 2018
District Contact:  Virnilisa Printup vprintup@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  There is no district NHD competition. The South Metro Region NHD Competition will be held on March 3, 2018 at Clayton State University.


Robotics Competition 

Grades 4-8.
Registration/Notification Deadline: 
Robots orders due September 1, 2017
Team entry deadline October 2, 2017.
District Contacts: Joanna Anglin janglin@rockdale.k12.ga.us and Dr. Chuck Garner cgarner@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  December TBD at SCE.


RCPS Middle School Math Team Competition

Grades 6-8.
Registration/Notification Deadline: 
Open to RCPS middle schools. No registration fee.
District Contact: Joanna Anglin janglin@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
District Event: January TBD at RMSST.


Fifth Grade Social Studies Fair

Grade 5.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  List of Entries Due January 5, 2018
District Contact:  Virnilisa Printup vprintup@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  January 20, 2018 at MMS.
8:00am- 9:00am - Students Set-up Projects
9:00am-11:30am - Student Interviews and Judging of Projects 
1:00pm -  1:25pm - Projects Open for Public Viewing
1:30pm- 2:00pm - Presentation of Awards in Auditorium


Rockdale Regional Science and Engineering Fair

Website: http://rsef.webs.com
Contact:  Amanda Baskett abaskett@rockdale.k12.ga.us , Dr. Scott Bolen sbolen@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
Event:  
Thursday, January 25, 2018,
6:00pm - 7:00pm   Students set up projects

Friday, January 26, 2018
2:00pm - 7:30pm Judging and Awards 
2:00pm-4:30pm - Student Interviews
4:30pm-5:00pm - Participant Break
5:00pm-6:00pm - Projects Open for Public Viewing
6:00pm-6:15pm - Project Breakdown
6:30pm-7:00pm - Awards Ceremony in RCHS Theater
7:30pm-8:00pm - Mandatory meeting for GSEF and ISEF winners in RCHS Theater


Technology and Media Showcase

Grades 3-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Register no later than January 5, 2018. Showcase projects must be presented on the day of the Showcase.
District Contact:  Technology Fair Contact  Gena Jeselnik gjeselnik@rockdale.k12.ga.us
http://www.rockdaleschools.org/techfair
District Event:  January 27, 2018 at RCA


Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl

Grades 4–8,
Grades 9-12 (Tentative).
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Submit Intent to Participate to Jean O’Kelley (DMS) by November 1, 2017
District Contact:  Elementary & Middle School - Beth Clark bclark@rockdale.k12.ga.us , High School - Kimberly Wisnewski kwisnewski@rockdale.k12.ga.us .
District Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl Event:  January 27, 2018 at RCA 8:00 am – 1:00 pm
Metro Regional HRRB Event: February 10, 2018 at Clayton State University
North Divisional HRRB Event: March 3, 2018 at Southwest DeKalb High School
State HRRB Event: March 24, 2018 at University of Georgia

RCPS District Spelling Bee

Grades 4-8.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Register with National Scripps Spelling Bee, Regular Enrollment from Oct. 17 to Dec. 15, 2017.
School Winners due January 26, 2018.
District Contacts:  Audrey Champion achampion@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
District Event:  February 9, 2018 at EMS 9:30 a.m.


Math 24 Competition

Grades 3-5.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Names of Building Leaders due March 9, 2018. 
District Contact:  LaToya Byrd lbyrd2@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
District Event:  March 24, 2018 at RCA.


Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition

Grades K-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Submit School Level Winners February 16, 2018.
District Contacts:  Erika Tucker etucker@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
District Event:  TBD, Winners submitted to Metro RESA


Thousand Voices Oratorical Showcase

Grades K-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Submit School Level Winners’ Entry Forms by March 16, 2018.
District Contact:  Erika Tucker etucker@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
District Event:  April 28, 2018 at MMS, elementary 8:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m., middle/high 10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m.


Science and Social Studies Showcase

Grades 3-5.
Registration/Notification Deadline: List of Entries due March 24, 2018.
District Contacts:  Dr. Denise Richardson drichardson@rockdale.k12.ga.us and Lisa Printup vprintup@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  April 28, 2018 at MMS


Schedule and event descriptions (PDF)