http://www.rockdaleschools.org/

Academic Competition and Showcase Opportunities


Event Details (PDF) (RTF)




2018-19 Schedule:

For more details on each event, see "Event Details" above on this page.

Oratorical Competition (Clerk of Courts Office)

Grades 6-8.
Registration/Notification Deadline: 
Submit School Level Winners by September 28, 2018.
District Contact:  Sonja Vernon, svernon@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event: 
October 20, 2018 Finalists Workshop at CMS 12 p.m. - 5 p.m., 
November 10, 2018 District Competition at CMS 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)



Rockdale Math Competition

Grades 6-12.
District Contact:  Dr. Chuck Garner, cgarner@rockdale.k12.ga.us
www.rockdalemathcompetition.com
District Event: 
October 27, 2018, 9 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. at Rockdale Magnet School.
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)



National History Day

Grades 6-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline: 
Intent to Participate Form Due October 26, 2018.
Preliminary Registration for South Metro Region Due TBD.
Each school will host its own fair. All school competitions are to be held before February 8, 2019.
Formal Registration TBD 2019.
District Contact:  Virnilisa Printup vprintup@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  There is no district NHD competition. The South Metro Region NHD Competition will be held March 2019 at Clayton State University.  The State NHD will be held April 13, 2019 at LaGrange College in Macon, Georgia.
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)



Fifth Grade Social Studies Fair

Grade 5.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  List of Entries Due January 4, 2019.
District Contact:  Virnilisa Printup vprintup@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  January 12, 2019 at MMS.
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)



Technology and Media Showcase

Grades 3-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Register no later than January 5, 2019. Showcase projects must be presented on the day of the Showcase.
District Contact:  Technology Fair Contact  Gena Jeselnik gjeselnik@rockdale.k12.ga.us
https://www.rockdaleschools.org/techfair
District Event:  January 26, 2019 at RCA.
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)


Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl

Grades 4-8,
Grades 6-8,
Grades 9-12 (Tentative).
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Submit Intent to Participate to Jean O’Kelley (elementary and middle schools) and to Kimberly Wisnewski (high schools) by October 31, 2018.
District Contact:  Elementary & Middle School - Beth Clark bclark@rockdale.k12.ga.us , High School - Kimberly Wisnewski kwisnewski@rockdale.k12.ga.us .
District Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl Event:  January 26, 2019, 8 a.m. – 1 p.m. at RCA Guidelines available at www.dekalbschoolsga.org/helen-ruffin-reading-bowl
Metro Regional HRRB Event: February 9, 2019 at Clayton State University
North Divisional HRRB Event: TBD.
State HRRB Event: March 30, 2019 at University of Georgia.
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)



Rockdale Regional Science and Engineering Fair

Website: http://rsef.webs.com
Support information:  http://sites.google.com/view/schoolfair/home
Contact:  Amanda Baskett abaskett@rockdale.k12.ga.us , Dr. Scott Bolen sbolen@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
Event:  February 1, 2019, at Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology.
Setup January 31, 2019.
Awards February 1, 2019, 6:30 p.m. at Rockdale Magnet School.




RCPS District Spelling Bee

Grades 4-8.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Register with National Scripps Spelling Bee, Regular Enrollment from August 2018-December 2018.
School Winners due January 18, 2019.
District Contacts:  Audrey Champion achampion@rockdale.k12.ga.us, DaMeka Whitehead, dwhitehead@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  February 8, 2019, 9:30 a.m. at MMS.
GAE region Event:  February 25, 2019, 10 a.m.
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)



Math 24 Competition

Grades 3-5.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Names of Building Leaders due April 12, 2019. 
District Contact:  LaToya Byrd lbyrd2@rockdale.k12.ga.us 
District Event:  April 27, 2019, 9 a.m. - 12 p.m. noon at RCA.
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)



Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition

Grades K-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Submit School Level Winners February 18, 2019.
District Contacts:  Erika Tucker etucker@rockdale.k12.ga.us, dmalone@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  TBD, Winners submitted to Metro RESA
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)



Thousand Voices Oratorical Showcase

Grades K-12.
Registration/Notification Deadline:  Submit School Level Winners’ Entry Forms by March 15, 2019.
District Contact:  Erika Tucker etucker@rockdale.k12.ga.us .
District Event:  May 4, 2019, 9 a.m. at MMS.
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)



Science and Social Studies Showcase

Grades 3-5.
Registration/Notification Deadline: List of Entries due March 15, 2019.
District Contacts:  Dr. Denise Richardson drichardson@rockdale.k12.ga.us and Lisa Printup vprintup@rockdale.k12.ga.us
District Event:  May 4, 2019, 9:30 a.m. at MMS.
Event Details (PDF) (RTF)




Event Details (PDF) (RTF)