Last item for navigation
104 RCPS students named AP Scholars 2022-23
Conyers, Ga. – Rockdale County Public Schools (RCPS) honors the 104 students recently named 2023 Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars – including two AP Capstone Diploma recipients and one AP Seminar and Research Certificate recipient – for their outstanding performance on the 2022-2023 exams. This is an increase of 21 students from the previous year with all three of our high schools represented among AP Scholars. The total number of RCPS students scoring 3 or higher also increased 5% over the previous year.

“I commend our Advanced Academics Coordinator and her outstanding team to include our gifted specialist, school counselors, school administrators, registrars, and especially our teachers for their unwavering commitment and dedication to ensuring advanced academic success,” said RCPS Superintendent Dr. Terry Oatts. “Over the last several years, we have seen consistent AP achievement gains with increased AP enrollment, increased AP course offerings, increased AP test takers, increased AP exam achievement, and increased number of AP Scholars identified.”

Each year, thousands of high school students across the world take AP exams. The College Board recognizes the hard work of top students through the awarding of several distinctions: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction, and the AP Capstone Diploma.

Fifty-five RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars. This distinction is given to students who receive a score of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. Of those, 49 were students at Rockdale County High School (RCHS) (which includes Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology, RMSST), four attended Heritage High School (HHS), and two were students at Salem High School (SHS).

Eighteen RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars with Honor, which is awarded to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and score a 3 or higher on four or more of those exams. Of those, 16 were students at RCHS (which includes RMSST), and two were students at HHS.

Twenty-eight RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars with Distinction, which is awarded to those students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams and score 3 or higher on five or more AP exams. These 28 students were at RCHS (which includes RMSST).

Two RCPS students earned the prestigious AP Capstone diploma. These two students attended RCHS/RMSST. The AP Capstone is a diploma program based on two yearlong AP courses: AP Seminar and AP Research. Instead of teaching specific subject knowledge, AP Seminar and AP Research use an interdisciplinary approach to develop the critical thinking, research, collaboration, time management, and presentation skills students need for college-level work. Students who earn scores of 3 or higher in AP Seminar and AP Research and on four additional AP Exams of their choosing receive the AP Capstone Diploma.  

One RCPS student earned the AP Research and Seminar Certificate.  Students who earn scores of 3 or higher in AP Seminar and AP Research but not on four additional AP Exams receive the AP Seminar and Research Certificate. This student attended RCHS/RMSST.

All of these students are to be commended for their hard work and dedication to their education. Being recognized as an AP Scholar is an honor, and RCPS congratulates the following students:

Grace Kirkland
Amani Roberson
Dylan Burkey
Alexa Apiyo
Precious Babajide
Abigail Buchanan
Noah Buchanan
Olivia DeFrancesco
Trenton Fulgham
Jose Funes
Prakash Gupta
Camille Hall
Kayla Holland
JR Insular
Trinity James
Jeriko Kammerer
Andrew Land
Duc Le
Kayla Lewis
Lauren McWilliams
Camila Moreno
Alan Nguyen
Stewart Oser
Delano Page
Hayaa Patel
Isabella Powell
Amani Roberson
Kathryn Stoltz
Andrew Tyler
Ryan Wood
Maxwell Zhang

Emmanuel Allen
Abigail Baker
Victoria Brown
Salvador Cervantes
Helena Chapar
Cristian Garfias
Nia Halley
Saidah Hoyte
Kyra Jarvis
Demilade Ladipo
Maleah Miller
Matilda Rodgers
Emily Royal
Emilia Samuels
Joel Samuels
Hannah Sanders
Shianne Shaw
Logan Sprinkle
Sarah Abdulkhader
Sameeha Ali
Xander Atkinson
Ethan Barlay
Preston Brantley
Keelia Brasfield
Jai'Ana Burditte
Dylan Burkey
Zoe Cannon
Skye Chandler
Skylar Chandler
Bianca Christie
Chace Cleveland
Ethan Collisworth
Joshua Comeau
Alyssa Cornwall
Madisyn Dennis
Simon DePina
Jayden Edwards
Jorge Escalera
Gemma Gayle
Angel Gomez
Sydney Hammett
Jaycee Herth
Colin Hudson
Mariyah Humphries
DeAndre Johnney
Grace Kirkland
Bao Nguyen Le
Maya Lester
Jin Lin
Terron McRae
James Miller
Victor Montoya
Juan Moran
Ian Morgan
Simone Nelson
Dalena Nguyen
Ethan Niemczyk
Damaria Ponder
Jasmyne Porter
Ryan Rakestraw
Gavin Reece
Jessica Rhee
Lucas Rodgers
Emani Ruffin
Destiny Sarter
Khalil Sistrat
Shinnel Solomon
Caden Taylor
Alexander Thomas
Cadyn Wells
Christian White
Jeremy White
Laila Wood